We are committed to ensuring the welfare and safety of all children in school and, through our policies, procedures and attitudes, strive to promote a culture of shared responsibility for all aspects of safeguarding.  All North Yorkshire schools, including Croft Church of England Primary School, follow the North Yorkshire Safeguarding Children Partnership procedures.

Our Aims
Safeguarding is about ensuring everyone is

  • Safe from harm
  • Safe from bullying
  • Safe from people who could abuse us
  • Safe from discrimination or harassment
  • Safe in our environment

Designated Safeguarding Leads in school are

  • Mrs Rebecca Wallace Head Teacher
  • Mr Jack Conway Upper Key Stage 2 Teacher
  • Mrs Gemma McManus Teacher & SENCO
  • Mrs Lyndsey Robinson Out of School Club Manager

All staff, including temporary staff, and volunteers in school are subject to stringent background checks including clearance with the Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) to ensure their suitability for working with children. We maintain a single central register containing details of all adults in regulated activity. This is audited regularly.
The named Governor for Safeguarding is Mrs Alison Russell

The named Safeguarding Lead for Dales Academies Trust is Bishop Paul Ferguson
All contact details for all safeguarding leads can be found in our safeguarding policy.

In order to protect our children, we aim to:

  • Create an atmosphere where all our children feel secure, valued and listened to
  • Recognise signs and symptoms of abuse
  • Respond quickly and effectively to cases of suspected abuse
  • Use our curriculum to raise children’s and parents’ awareness, build confidence and skills
  • Work closely with parents/carers and external agencies
  • Ensure that all adults within our school who have access to children have been checked as to their suitability
  • Ensure Online safety taught throughout the school

Croft Church of England Primary School will support all of our children by:

  • Encouraging self-esteem and appropriate self-assertiveness whilst not condoning aggressive behaviour or bullying
  • Promoting a caring and positive environment within our school
  • Notifying social care as soon as there is a significant concern
  • Providing continuity of support for a child for whom there may be concerns, when they change schools (This will be sent confidentially to the new school).

Annual Safeguarding training
Staff take part in annual safeguarding refresher training. At each staff meeting, safeguarding is always on the agenda. This keeps staff up to date with their training and ensures there are opportunities to discuss aspects of safeguarding. There is a CPD record which ensures all staff are up to date with all aspects of training.

All staff and governors have been trained in the following:

  • Female Genital Mutilation (FGM)
  • PREVENT (Prevention of radicalisation)
  • First Aid, Emergency and Paediatric, Epi Pen, Positive Handling, Educational Visits and defibrillator
  • Online safety training, child on child abuse training
  • Cyber Security
  • Counter Terrorism
  • County Lines
  • The DSL and DDSLs have undertaken further safeguarding training and updates from North Yorkshire Safeguarding Children Partnership
  • The Head Teacher and at least one governor involved in recruitment will complete Safer Recruitment training
  • The school submits a Safeguarding Audit to North Yorkshire Safeguarding Children Partnership every 2 years

For further information and training please click on the link to:

CEOP (Child Exploitation Online Protection). ThinkuKnow
Educate against Hate
The latest government guidance on safeguarding can be found here:
Working Together to Safeguard Children–2
Keeping Children Safe in Education 2023